Skip to Content

Sunday, September 27th, 2020

7 Pinoy swimmers cop MOS award in Singapore Invitational meet

by August 9, 2016 General

August 9, 2016 8:47 pm

SINGAPORE: Seven Filipino tankers led by University of Santo Tomas stand­out Sean Terence Zamora bagged the Most Outstanding Swimmer (MOS) awards in the 2016 Singapore Invita­tional Swimming Championship held at the Singapore Island Country Club.

The 15-year-old senior high school student earned seven golds and one silver highlighted by his record-breaking feat in six individual events to secure the MOS award in the boys’ 16-17 category.

Fresh from a month-long training at the Aqualife Somerset Training Center in Australia, Zamora smashed records in the 200m freestyle (2:02.16), 100m butterfly (58.78), 50m freestyle (25.32), 200m Individual Medley (2:15.76), 100m freestyle (55.36) and 50m butterfly (26.80)

Also sharing the spotlight were Aubrey Tom of International Learning Academy of Cainta (eight golds in girls’ 8-9), Jerard Dominic Jacinto of University of the East (eight golds in boys’ 14-15), Kyla Soguilon of Sun Yat Sen-Kalibo (seven golds and one silver in girls’ 12-13), and Joey Del Rosario of De La Salle-Zobel (four golds and four silvers in boys’ 8-9), who won MOS trophies in their respective age groups.

The other MOS winners were Jazmine Francheska Mirasol in girls’ 18-over (seven golds and one silver) and Master Charles Janda in boys’ 7-under (four golds and four silvers).

The Filipino tankers established a total of 20 new records in the tournament.

Besides Zamora, the other record-breakers are Tom, Jacinto, Soguilon, Aubrey Bermejo (girls’ 12-13), Estelle Margaret Mendez of Hollistic Learning Academy (girls’ 7-under), Gian Daniel Berino of University of the Philippines (boys’ 18-over), Charize Jualiana Esmero of UP Integrated School and Marc Bryan Dula of Weisenheimer Academy (boys’ 8-9).

Overall, PSL grabbed a sparkling 79 gold medals to retain the overall championship crown – its fifth title including the 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2015 plums.

The other individual gold medals were Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Paul Christian King Cusing, Shane Majimbun, Nicolai Chiong, Trizia Tabamo, Gianna Data, Louise Orlane Reyes, Jose Rommel Corpuz, Orlando Luis Reyes, Trump Christian Luistro, Zhakira Eybriel Idulsa and Isis Arnaldo.

Also winning medals in their respective events were Roger Dante Giron, Rafael Escalona, Francesca Barretto, Joaquin Mirasol, Gene Heart Quiambao, Raehanna Gargullo, Eulah Balili, Lee Grant Cabral, Matther Carbonell, Isabel Baclig, Namahig Asa Mahiwo, Trezcia Dorado, Adrienne Macapagal, Luis Ramirez, Albert Sermonia 2nd, Angela Torrico, Sean Agustin, Ethan Apigo, Gregg Marasigan, Antoinette Agbanlog, Sabrina Solosa, Sophia Barcelo, Annejanette Carbonell, Janina Casado, Sofia Lopez, Tida Narciso, Alexandra Marie Rejuso, Gerard Berino, Bernadette Cabatian, Marielle Montenegro, Lowestein Julian Lazaro, Stacy Regala, Alfonso Torrico, Alexandra Pascua, McKiro Agbanlog and Kenshin Rejuso.

“We’re looking forward to defend our title next year. Our swimmers will be going home with happy faces. We want to thank everyone who helped us in this trip especially the Philippine Sports Commission under Chairman William “Butch” Ramirez,” said PSL President Susan Papa, who was accompanied by PSL Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa, PSL Regional Directors Fiscal Theresa Mahiwo (Bicol Region) and Joan Mojdeh (NCR), and coaches Alex Papa, Ryan Robles and Joey Andaya.

PSL is a national sports swimming association for universities and colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines – the internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University.