Skip to Content

Anti-Corruption Commission quizzes six AB Bank directors, calls chairman Monday

by January 7, 2018 General

The six directors quizzed by the ACC on Sunday were: Shishir Ranjan Bose, Mesbahul Hoque, Md Fahimul Haque, Syed Afzal Hasan Uddin, Runa Zakia and Prof M Imtiaz Hossain.

ACC director Syed Iqbal Hossain and Assistant Director Gulshan Anwar Prodhan questioned them at its Segunbagicha headquarters between 9am to 4pm.

Bank director BB Saha Roy has been asked to appear before the ACC along with the chairman on Monday.

ACC Deputy Director (Public Relations) Pranab Kumar Bhattacharya confirmed the summoning of the chairman and the director.

Earlier, on Dec 28, 2017, ACC quizzed former chairman of the bank, M Wahidul Huq and former managing director M Fazlur Rahman.

On Dec 31, Shamim Ahmed Chaudhury, also a former managing director of the AB Bank, and Abu Hena Mostafa Kamal, who had headed the financial institute and treasury department of the bank.

Five other bank officials were also questioned on Jan 2. They are Head of Corporate and Structured Finance Division Mahfuz-Ul-Islam, Head of Offshore Banking Unit or OBU Mohammad Lokman, OBU official Md Arif Newaz, Secretary Mahdev Sarker Sumon and MN Azim, an official at the bank’s headquarters.

The ACC has imposed a ban on 16 current and former AB Bank officials including former chairman Wahidul from travelling abroad until their investigation is complete.

The ACC says they are investigating the alleged money laundering of Tk 1.65 billion to PGF, a company based in Dubai, in the name of opening an offshore firm in Singapore.