Skip to Content

Tuesday, December 10th, 2019

Australia, U.S. among countries offering Chinese 10-year visa

by November 25, 2016 General

Updated 2016-11-25 17:22:19

The number of Chinese travelling abroad and their spending is increasing every year. In 2015 alone, more than 117 million Chinese tourists went overseas, a 9 percent rise, and total spending surged to more than 4 billion, a 16 percent increase.

Given the sheer scale of the market, more countries are easing their visa policies to lure more Chinese tourists. Let’s take a look at eight countries that have issued or are about to issue the 10-year multiple-entry visa for Chinese travelers.

1. Australia

Staring from this December, Chinese tourists will be able to apply for a 10-year multiple entry visa. The visa will allow the holder to stay in the country for 90 days each time. This is the first time that the Australian government is issuing such kind of visa, and it’s limited to Chinese citizens at the moment.

In 2015, more than a million Chinese visited Australia, with tourists spending ,000 per visit.

2. Thailand

On Nov 22, 2016, the Thailand government agreed to grant long-stay visa for senior tourists. Travelers over the age of 50 could apply for a 10-year visa. But reportedly the applicants must have a minimum monthly salary of ,777, or a minimum deposit of ,333 in their bank account for at least one year.

Thailand saw most Chinese visa applications in the first half of the year, according to Ctrip, a leading online travel agency in China.

3. United States

During the APEC Summit in Beijing on Nov 2014, the U.S. and Chinese government agreed to issue multi-entry business and tourist visas to each other that would be valid for up to 10 years. The 10-year multiple entry visa policy is applicable to businessmen and short-term tourists. Meanwhile, students and cultural exchange visas lasts for five years.

The 10-year U.S. visa holders can also enjoy visa-free benefit when entring Agentina, Cuba, Turkey among others.

4. Canada

From March 9, 2015, Canada and China have started issue 10-year multi-entry visa to each other for business, tourism and family visits.

5. Singapore

From June 2015, Singapore started issuing 10-year visas to Chinese business personnel who regularly visit the country, while the visa procedures and fees remain unchanged. At the same time. spouse and children (under the age of 21) of the 10-year visa holders will be granted the same visa.

6. Japan

From Oct 17, 2016, Japan extended its five-year multi-entry visa to 10 years, particularly for Chinese businessmen, academics and artists. Visa requirements for certain applicants will also be lowered.

7. South Korea

South Korea, for the first time, began issuing 10-year multiple entry visas to Chinese tourists from January 28. Those working in specialized fields, such as law, or those who are professors or hold a master’s degree or above can apply for the visa.

Meanwhile, application requirements for multiple entry visas have also been relaxed, with the age restriction starting from 55. Previously the restriction was set at 60 or above.

8. Israel

China and Israel reached a deal to issue each other the 10-year multiple-entry visas in late March of 2016. Last year, 47,000 Chinese visited Israel, and the number is expected to grow thanks to the new visa policy.