Skip to Content

Davao policewomen win 2017 BVR National Championship

by July 30, 2017 General

Davao policewomen win 2017 BVR National Championship

PO1 Lourdilyn Catubag and PO1 Karen Quilario of team Tagum-PNP are your new BVR National Champions.

Sta. Ana, Cagayan — In the end, the team that took down the defending champs eventually won the title for themselves.

Because sometimes, that’s just how it works in sports.

Tagum-PNP capped an impressive tournament Sunday at Anguib Beach here, scoring a 21-7, 21-19 win over SWU in the Final of the women’s division to capture the 2017 Beach Volleyball Republic National Championship.

PO1s Karen Quilario and Lourdilyn Catubag bombarded the BVR mainstays with a series of service aces in the opening frame, taking an early 1-0 in convincing fashion.

Dij Rodriguez and Terang Ramas would wake up in the second set, controlling the majority of the period before the pair of policewomen from Davao rallied for the close win.

A final out from SWU sealed the deal in favor of Team Tagum.

“Nagpapasalamat po kami sa Panginoon kasi kung hindi dahil sa Kanya, hindi kami makakarating dito tsaka hindi namin mapapanalo itong laro na ito,” Catubag told ABS-CBN Sports..

“Ginawa namin yung kaya namin, yung teamwork at previous experiences namin, kaya nakuha namin yung championship,” Quilario added.

Tagum-PNP’s title run took a serious turn in Day 2 as Catubag and Quilario took down Bea Tan and Mich Morente in the quarterfinals. Tan of course, is the defending BVR national champion after winning the whole thing with Fiola Ceballos last year at MOA sands.

Come the semifinals, Tagum-PNP continued to roll, blasting Cebu leg champions UNO-R (Magdato/Polidario) in straight sets, 21-10, 21-12.

Rodriguez, who was runner-up last year with teammte Jennifer Cosas, settled for a second place finish anew, this time with Ramas. UNO-R took third place after beating the Viray twins of San Beda in the consolation round, 17-21, 21-12, 15-9.

Aside from winning the title of BVR National Champion, Quilario and Catubag also won P50,000 cash and other prizes. More importantly, they made the Philippine team pool for the 2017 Southeast Asian Beach Volleyball Games in Singapore, SWU and Team UNO-R will join them in the lineup.

Follow this writer on Twitter, @paullintag8