Skip to Content

Formula one: Season-opener stays in Melbourne

by September 29, 2016 General
Andrew Tate

  • 24 reading now

The FIA has announced the 2017 formula one calendar, with the Australian grand prix in Melbourne again opening the season on March 26.

Baku in Azerbaijan and Austin in the United States both maintaining their places on the calendar. 

The 2017 grand prix calendar has been released with Mexico City on the grid and Melbourne again hosting the season-opener. The 2017 grand prix calendar has been released with Mexico City on the grid and Melbourne again hosting the season-opener.  Photo: Getty Images

In other news, the World Motor Sport Council confirmed changes to its regulations overnight Wednesday with grands prix to have different rules for wet weather starts. 

From next season, if a safety car is deemed to be required for the start of a race due to wet weather, a normal standing start will occur once the track is deemed safe to race. The process will see the safety car return to the pit lane and the cars assemble on the grid for the start.

Also, drivers who want to change their helmet livery will be given some leeway with each allowed one event, such as a home race, for a special livery. Drivers will also be allowed to change their helmet liveries if they switch teams during the season.

For the first five events next season, the normal team selection procedure for tyres will not be used as the deadline occurs before pre-season testing. For these events, the supplier will allocate two sets of the hardest compound specification, four sets of the medium compound specification and seven sets of the softest compound specification to each driver.

Australian grand prix CEO Andrew Westacott welcomed confirmation of Melbourne’s place on the schedule saying it had become an iconic event. 

 “The air of anticipation surrounding a brand new formula one season brings a buzz that Victorians know so well, with our great city coming alive in March and being on show to a vast global audience,” he said.
“We look forward to welcoming fans, teams and drivers from all around the world to Melbourne in March. Fans worldwide, but especially those in Australia, will look forward to seeing how one of the most likeable drivers in formula one, Daniel Ricciardo, will do in the first race of the 2017 season.”


March 26: Melbourne

April 9: Shanghai, China

April 16: Bahrain, Bahrain

April 30: Sochi, Russia

May 14: Barcelona, Spain

May 28: Monte Carlo, Monaco

June 11: Montreal, Canada

June 18: Baku, Azerbaijan

July 2: Spielberg, Austria

July 9: Silverstone, United Kingdom

July 23: Budapest, Hungary

July 30: Hockenheim, Germany

August 27: Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium 

September 3: Monza, Italy

September 17: Sepang, Malaysia

October 1: Singapore

October 8: Suzuka, Japan

October 22: Austin, US

November 5: Mexico City

November 12: Sao Paulo, Brazil

November 26: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates