Skip to Content

Thursday, December 12th, 2019

Mexico, five others to pursue TPP with or without U.S. – minister

by November 18, 2016 General

MEXICO CITY Mexico’s Economy Minister Ildefonso Guajardo said on Friday Mexico, Japan, Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand and Singapore aim to continue with the Trans-Pacific Partnership with or without the United States.

“We determined that our countries will press ahead with this agreement independently of what Washington decides,” Guajardo said of the trade deal on Mexican radio from Lima where he is taking part in the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation summit.

The six nations are among 12 signatories of the TPP, which currently cannot take effect without the ratification of the United States. U.S. President-elect Donald Trump condemned the deal on the campaign trail, leaving its fate uncertain.

(Reporting by Natalie Schachar and Veronica Gomez)

Next In Money News