Skip to Content

NC to finalise names of ministers today

by August 24, 2016 General

Aug 24, 2016- With the general convention of student wing complete, coalition partner Nepali Congress is finalising its ministerial candidates today.

The party had decided to finalise the names of ministers only after the conclusion of the Nepal Student Union general convention.

Party sources said that names of Arjun Narsingh KC, Sitadevi Yadav, Balkrishna Khand and Jiwan Shahi have been agreed upon while few other names are also in contention for finalisation.

Sekhar Koirala, Prakash Sharan Mahat, Min Bahadur Biswakarma, Farmullah Mansoor, Gagan Thapa, Nabindra Raj Joshi are the other ministerial aspirants from the party.

Party chairman Sher Bahadur Deuba is likely to send at least five or six ministers if agreement on all the candidates remained elusive.

Bimalendra Nidhi has led NC team in the Pushpa Kamal Dahal-led government. Nidhi and Ramesh Lekhak are the only ministers from the party.

With President Deuba flying to Singapore for medical treatment on Friday, the party is trying to name the remaining ministerial candidate before Friday.

Published: 24-08-2016 15:03