Skip to Content

Friday, September 18th, 2020

Off to Uganda

by April 12, 2017 General

Kenya have retained the squad that played hosts Nepal in the ICC World Cricket League matches last month ahead of their tour of Uganda starting today.

The same 14 players, who tied the ICC WCLC series with Nepal, will play five 50-over matches. Uganda will be using the matches to prepare for the upcoming ICC World Cricket League Division 3 tournament set for Kampala from May 23 to 30.

Others teams for the series will are United States of America, Oman, Singapore, Canada, Malaysia and hosts Uganda.

Speaking on the selection of the squad ahead the friendlies, coach Thomas Odoyo, said they opted not to make any changes to the team in order to enhance consistency and give the players more playing time. He said they also want to give their hosts good competition.

“We have players who have not been getting enough playing opportunities in the past events. We are settling for the same squad in a bid to give these players more playing time unlike in the past,” Odoyo said.

The last time a Kenyan squad were in Uganda was in November last year, when they played Uganda select sides and Takashinga from Zimbabwe.

The Kenya team lost all their matches, a performance that didn’t go well with the cricket followers. In planning for this series, the hosts requested CK to send their strongest squad thus the reason why they didn’t make any changes to the squad that played in Nepal.

“Uganda have an important tournament coming up next month and they want a strong team that will give them good preparation,” Odoyo added.

However, the last time Kenya national team played Uganda was last September in Nairobi and Uganda carried the day with a two-wicket win in the 50 overs matches.

“Uganda are playing very good cricket at the moment and as always, they will provide very tough opposition, particularly under their home conditions,” Odoyo said. Batting coach Maurice Odumbe, who missed the Nepal tour, will travel with the squad.

Squad: Rakep Patel, Nelson Odhiambo, Dhiren Gondaria, Pushpak Kerai (Kanbis), Shem Obado, Collins Obuya (Stray Lions), Nehemiah Odhiambo, Alex Obanda, (Swamibapa), Karan Kaul, Lucas Oluoch, Rushabh Vadrhan Patel (Nairobi Gymkhana), Elijah Otieno (Swamibapa), Gurdeep Singh (Nairobi Sikh Union) and Irfan Karim (unattached).


Tomorrow: Game (1) 50 over Kyambogo Oval

Saturday : Rest Day.

Sunday: Game (2) 50 over Kyambogo Oval

Monday: Game (3) 50 over Lugogo Oval

Tuesday: Rest Day.

Wednesday: Game (4) 50 over Lugogo Oval

Thursday: Game (5) 50 over Lugogo Oval