Skip to Content

Rockstar to release Red Dead Redemption 2 end of 2017

Closed
by October 19, 2016 General

The studio network behind “Grand Theft Auto” has started teasing its next big release, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One wild west adventure “Red Dead Redemption 2,” a late 2017 sequel to 2010’s critical and commercial success, and with a debut trailer set for October 20, 2016.

October 16, 2016, saw Rockstar Games post a red-textured background stamped with its own logo branding to Twitter; October 17 a silhouette of seven gun-toting wanderers against a wilderness background. October 18, and a fall 2017 date was announced, along with the game’s numbered title.

Those well acquainted with 2010’s “Red Dead Redemption” artwork recognized the blotchy red texture straight away; the silhouettes, stenciled in on October 18, got fans panning for clues as to the sequel’s main characters.

For despite the prominence of Rockstar’s flagship, “Grand Theft Auto,” it’s not the only game in town. An eight-studio network collaborates on the studio network’s biggest releases, with “Grand Theft Auto V” the most recent.

Before “GTA V” began its rolling release schedule in 2013, there was 2012’s “Max Payne 3” and, prior to that, “Red Dead Redemption” in 2010.

It was the second entry in the “Red Dead,” though not a sequel as such. The PlayStation 2’s “Red Dead Revolver,” debuting in 2004, was the first “Red Dead” title and, not co-incidentally, it’s just been re-released as a PlayStation 4 game on October 11.

But “Red Dead Redemption” was a fresh start for the franchise, and a considerable technical achievement for the time. Its single-player storyline created a butterfly effect around the player’s actions; an online mode made the most of the game’s wild expanses.

If that was in any way a preview of “Grand Theft Auto V” and its “Grand Theft Auto Online” component, perhaps the multiple protagonists and heist-planning intricacy of the “GTA V” pairing will be fed back into “Red Dead Redemption 2.”

A sequel had been rumored since early 2016 and will supposedly take place in a new area next to the cities and plains of the first “Redemption.”

Whatever the case, an “epic tale of life in America’s unforgiving heartland,” according to official website rockstargames.com/​reddeadredemption2. “The game’s vast and atmospheric world will also provide the foundation for a brand new online multiplayer experience,” it promises.

A debut trailer is set for release October 20 at 11am EST (3pm UTC, 5pm Central Europe, 11pm Singapore / Philippines / Malaysia / Beijing, 2am Sydney, Australia.)

Previous
Next