Skip to Content

SL, Singapore and Kazakhstan in Group B of China Sevens (Daily Financial Times (Sri Lanka))

by August 25, 2015 General

Sri Lanka will kick off their 2015/2016 rugby campaign at the Asian Sevens’ first leg in China on 5 September, playing in the same group as Singapore and Kazakhstan.

The 12-team event will take place in Shanghai with each group consists of three teams featuring in the two-day event. The second leg will then move to Thailand on 26 and 27 September with the third leg being worked off in Colombo at the Race Course grounds. The last of the Sevens series will take place in Hong Kong for the Asian Olympic qualification tournament which will see one of the Asian sides booking their berth at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

Fazil Marija is tipped to lead the Sri Lankan outfit at the China Sevens with England Sevens sensation Matthew Turner coming in as Head Coach. Sri Lanka will play Kazakhstan (SL time 12.22 p.m.) and Singapore (SL Time 15.18 p.m.) on the opening day.

Group A – Hong Kong, Philippines, UAE

Group B – Sri Lanka, Singapore, Kazakhstan

Group C – Japan, China, Taipei

Group D – South Korea, Thailand, Malaysia