Skip to Content

Monday, September 28th, 2020

39 countries to attend Asia-Europe transportation minister meeting

by September 25, 2017 General

Transportation Minister Budi Karya Sumadi has said representatives of 39 countries and two organizations have committed to attending the fourth Asia-Europe (ASEM) Transport Minister Meeting (TMM), to be held in Bali from Tuesday to Thursday.

European countries that will send representatives include Hungary, Latvia, Luxembourg, Poland, the United Kingdom and Russia, while those from Asia include Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore and South Korea.

Six transportation ministers from Europe and 12 from Asia will attend the ASEM-TMM, while other countries will send senior officials to the meeting, Budi said in Jakarta on Monday, adding that the main issues to be discussed include the improvement of connectivity and transportation infrastructure.

He said on the sidelines of the event Indonesia would hold bilateral meetings with representatives from several countries.

With Japan, for example, Indonesia will discuss several projects including MRT, light rail transit (LRT), the Patimban Port in West Java and the Jakarta-Surabaya medium-speed railway project, he added.

“With Luxembourg, we will sign an air service agreement, with Korea, we will discuss Intelligent Transport Systems, with the Philippines, we will discuss vocational training programs for Indonesian sailors,” Budi added as reported by Antara.

On Sept. 26 the event will start with the transportation senior official meeting (TSOM) and the transportation and logistics exhibition, involving state-owned airport operators – AP I and AP II – and state-run air navigation company AirNav. (bbn)