Skip to Content

Presidents of Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia discuss a number of important issues, aimed at further development of Eurasian integration

by December 27, 2016 General

Bishkek, December 27 / Kabar /. Presidents of Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Armenia, Kazakhstan discussed on December 26 in St. Petersburg the most topical issues related to further development of the Eurasian integration, as well as promising directions of development of the Union. During the meeting the leaders of four states of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) signed the Customs Code of the EEU.

The meeting was attended by President of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan, President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev, President of Kyrgyzstan Almazbek Atambayev, Russian President Vladimir Putin and Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) Tigran Sargsyan.

In his welcoming speech Vladimir Putin emphasized the achievements of the Union and said that much work has been put into preparing the new Customs Code, which contains a whole series of important legal innovations in line with the most advanced world practice. The President stressed the new powers of the Eurasian Commission for Customs Regulation and provisions for broad use of digital technology when carrying out customs formalities for goods at the Union’s external borders.

“One of our paramount tasks in the immediate future is to develop a common digital space throughout the Eurasian Economic Union. I recently discussed this in Moscow with Chairman of the Eurasian Economic Commission Board Tigran Sargsyan. I agree with him completely that the digital economy has undergone massive development over these last years, especially in countries such as China and the United States, and if the Eurasian Economic Union were to lag behind in the areas of global electronic trade and intersectoral digital platforms, this could have an impact on our competitiveness on foreign markets and on our Union’s domestic markets” he said.

President of Kyrgyzstan Almazbek Atambayev stressed that 2016 was significant for Kyrgyzstan as a full member of the Eurasian Economic Union.

The Presidents considered the draft Customs Code of the EEU. The document was signed by the Presidents of the Union states – Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia, and will be sent for signature to Belarus President.

In particular, the leaders adopted a declaration on formation of (digital agenda) of the EEU. They also adopted documents on establishing a common electricity market within the Union.

The parties also approved documents for liberalization of services and on establishment of transport market.

They also have approved proposals on the need to start talks on creation of the free trade zone between the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and Iran, Egypt, India and Singapore.

The Presidents discussed the presidency in 2017 in the bodies of the Eurasian Economic Union: the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council and the Council of the Eurasian Economic Commission. In 2016 Kazakhstan chaired in all three structures and in 2017, presidency moves to Kyrgyzstan in alphabetical order.

It is expected that the next meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council will be held in April 2017.